Thoughts on Coffee Shops

I didn’t always to love coffee. There was a time when I hated it. I thought it was disgusting. Oh, how wrong I was. Coffee is a beautiful creation. A beautiful, caffeinated, high-calorie (at least the kind I get) creation. Let me chronicle my coffee journey for you. Because there’s nothing you would rather be reading more, right?

There was a coffee shop in a nearby town that my friends introduced me to. I was in love. Great Irish Cream lattes, good food and karaoke. This was several years ago. I drug practically everyone I knew here. Unfortunately, the last time I stopped in, it was not the same place that I loved. They had changed their hours, there was no more karaoke and my latte was far from the deliciousness I remembered. Sad days, yes.

Fast forward to my second semester of college (AKA January of 2017). Starbucks. I love Starbucks. If I am near a Starbucks, chances are I’m going to stop and get something. I’m a basic white girl, yes (I also have a Panera addiction). One day a week I have a large gap between two of my classes. For several weeks, I drove to the nearest Starbucks (15ish minutes away), got a pastry and coffee and did homework. It was nice (most of the time). Sometimes the Spotify playlist they had going was the most irritating pop music ever and it would usually get crazy busy and I would feel like I was taking up space. But all-in-all, I enjoyed it.

And then things changed in late February. A friend informed me that a coffee shop had opened just up the road from our school. It’s name? Free Press Coffee House. Naturally, I had to check it out. My first time there, I ordered an amaretto latte and sat at the bar in front of the windows. I was enjoying it. So I went back the next week. And the week after that. And then I had 15 minutes to spare, so I ran and got coffee before a class. And I started stopping by after work, getting dinner and doing my homework. It’s been about a month since I first came to this coffee shop, they’ve gotten most of my money and I don’t regret it for a minute.

This atmosphere is relaxing, the coffee is the best I’ve ever had, the food is 50 million times healthier than Starbucks, the playlists are so indie, and the baristas know their stuff. Like, they are artists and coffee is their medium. I have a serious love for this place. I  have to be honest, I haven’t dragged all my friends here. Yet.

Whether I’m doing geography homework, journaling or just sitting, something about Free Press Coffee House makes me focus. I don’t know what they’re doing, but they’re doing it right.

End of thought.

Leave a Reply

